Reset tool, found in the reset tab is the first tool added to WP Reset and the one most people use. It’s a tool for second chances, a quick solution to cleaning up WP after you’ve installed the wrong theme that left a lot of garbage behind itself, or after WP starts to behave strangely. It’s a great helper for anyone doing some testing on WP. But, remember – WP Reset does not make any backups. So, think twice before you reset.

Things to know about the reset tool

  • to run it, you have to type in “reset” and then confirm the action again, so don’t be afraid – you can’t reset by accident
    No reset by accident
  • resetting only takes a few seconds and you’re imediatelly returned to the site’s dashboard; no need to log in again
  • there is NO UNDO – be careful please; WP Reset does not make any backups
  • reset only deals with the database – absolutely no files are modified, deleted or touched in any way
  • plugins and themes, since they are files, are not touched and you can reactivate them after resetting
  • if you have some media files they will stay in the /wp-content/uploads/ folder while their DB entries in media will be deleted, so in a way, they become orphans that you can delete using the Clean Uploads Folder Tools
  • all posts, pages, custom post types, comments, media entries and users are deleted
  • all data in the default WP database tables is deleted as well custom DB tables that have the same prefix as your core tables
  • after reset the following data is restored automatically: site title, WordPress address, site address, site language and search engine visibility settings
  • user account that you’re using while resetting is restored as well, with the same password (all other users will be gone)

Post Reset Options

Post Reset

Post reset options are designed to save you a few more precious clicks and seconds so that you don’t have to do anything after resetting.

  • reactivate current theme – if not enabled the default theme (Twenty Nineteen) will be activated
  • reactivate WP Reset plugin – enabled by default; disabling this does not affect any WP Reset’s functionality but you won’t get a successful reset confirmation after reset as the plugin will no longer be active
  • reactivate WP Webhooks plugin – if you’re using webhooks to enhance the site’s functionality, you’ll want this enabled
  • reactivate all currently active plugins – self-explanatory; please note that if you have 10+ plugins resetting can take a bit longer as plugins have to be reactivated